Dealing with Grief

Grief is the psychological-emotional experience following a loss of any kind (relationship, status, job, house, game, income, etc).
— Dr. Will Meek, Counseling Psychologist

Grief is...

A highly individualized process with no specific timetable, and there are four major components of grief that show up in varying degrees, depending on the individual:

1) Separation Distress

2) Traumatic Distress

3) Guilt/Remorse/Regret

4) Social Withdrawal

Best Ways to Handle Grief?

 --> Staying physically healthy (healthy diet, appropriate amount of sleep, exercise everyday)

 --> Finding meaning in what happens in our lives and giving context to experiences

 --> Finding ways to honor what was lost with things like art, community involvement, or prayer. 

 --> Do not judge your feelings

 --> Make sure your daily life stays functional with respect to time management

It is important to find support when grieving.  A safe space to express emotions around trauma, without judgements, is vital to healing from grief.  This is not always easy because the natural response to grief is to isolate from the world.  While it may take less effort to isolate, engaging is actually what helps turn things around.  People are willing to listen and to help you determine the best ways to handle your personal grief.  And sometimes an external vantage point is exactly what it takes to sort through the confusing thoughts that accompany grief on the heels of a traumatic loss. 


Ph.D., J. T., Ph.D., I. S., J.D., T. B., & Ph.D., G. B. (2012, October 18). Real Stages of Grief. Retrieved February 20, 2017, from